Question about Restore Options

 I have Vista Ultimate 32-bit and am running SP 3.0 Desktop.

 I want to know which restore options I should use among restore MBR, restore disk signature and restore disk hidden track.

 It appears from the user guide that disk signatures are used by Microsoft server products and since I'm not using them, I don't need that option?

It appears thad hidden tracks are used by some boot loaders and since I'm not using them, I don't need that option either?

So that leaves me with the MBR option.  Should I select it or not select it?

 

Comments

STC-Nate

Re: Question about Restore Options

If you're restoring the image back to the same disk and partition from which it came, you generally don't need to restore any of those things (you don't need to restore the MBR, or the hidden track sectors, or the disk signature).  If you're restoring to a different disk on the same machine, then definitely do NOT restore the disk signature.  The decision on restoring the MBR (which restores the MBR code section only) and hidden track sectors is whether or not you have custom MBR code, such as a fully pre-boot disk encryption product, etc.  If you just have the standard MBR, then you generally won't need to restore the MBR or hidden track sectors.  If you're restoring to a different machine then I generally recommend that you do check all three (restore disk signature, hidden track sectors, and disk signature) as well as check the HIR option during restore.

If you ever boot your restored OS and it comes up to a blank screen (not a blue screen, but a black screen), or gives you any ntldr errors, then just boot your windows install CD and specify that you want to use the Recovery Console and then within the recovery console execute "mbrfix /drive 0 fixmbr" and "fixboot C:"
 

ablatt

Re: Question about Restore Options

Nate, thanks for the reply. 

Another question.  Is it normal that every time I restore a complete image of my C: drive, I get the warning that Windows hasn't shut down properly and I'm asked to start in Safe or Normal Mode?
 

STC-Nate

Re: Question about Restore Options

Yes, actually, that's quite normal.  There's no need to boot into safe mode, unless you're restoring a domain controller in which case you'll need to refer to some of the white papers in our downloads section.  The reason for this is that live backups are taken using a snapshot of your volume.  This snapshot instantaneously captures a frozen exact state of your disk at a single point in time (using kernel mode storage filtering technologies).  It's as if it captures the state of your disk in a single moment, such as when you power off your machine.  Such a state is called "crash consistent."  However ShadowProtect takes several measures to capture application and file system data in a better state than the "crash consistent" state.  For instance, it will always cleanly (using a priorietary I/O file system filter barrier) flush the file system prior to establishing the snapshot.  In addition to flushing the file system, on systems that support VSS (such as XP/2003/Vista), it will attempt to leverage the VSS framework to quiesce applications/services/components/etc which are VSS aware, thus capturing their data in an optimally flushed state.  Occasionally the VSS framework gets into a bad state and in such situations ShadowProtect may not be able to take the backup using VSS, however, if this occurs, ShadowProtect will still create the backup using snapshot of the flushed filesystem.

Pleonasm

Re: Question about Restore Options

Nate, at the risk of being too repetitive, I once again recommend that you incorporate your excellent practical insights contained in this thread concerning image restore operations into the ShadowProtect Desktop Edition User Guide.

STC-Nate

Re: Question about Restore Options

Noted, thanks.  :)

Quicktech

Re: Question about Restore Options

I know I am bumping a very old post, however wanted to help anyone else with the above problem

Restored both the Dell Utility partition and the C Drive with defaults

After restore, get thrown a /ntldr error

Boot into Recovery Console, and type the following

fixmbr
Confirm

fixboot c:

The above command "mbrfix" doesn't exist, I think it was perhaps a typo