Requesting help. Moving a slow SBS 2003 system onto HyperV on Windows Server 2012.

I am trying to prepare.  Any discussion, links to documents, suggestions are greatly appreciated.

SCENARIO:
Old SBS 2003 running on outdated hardware. 

Plan:
A) Buy a new server running Windows Server 2012
B) Image the 2 volumes of an old SBS 2003 system.
C) Restore these images INTO HyperV on new hardware.

Comments:
I have never used HyperV before

Request:
Procedure help.  I need to start somewhere!

Thank you

Tags:

Comments

mnichols

It's pretty straight

It's pretty straight forward.

You'll want to create fixed size VHDX disks for your new VM that are at least the same size or bigger than the original volumes.

Your OS volume must be attached as an IDE disk, your data volumes can be attached as SCSI disks.

Create a share on your hyper-V server for ISO files, copy the ISO for the recovery environment in to it.

Create a new VM and attach the necessary disks, configure it to use the ISO for the recovery environment for the dvd drive.

If you want to minimize downtime and you have a good amount of data to restore, you can start the restore while continuing to run the sbs 2003 system.

You'll first want to disable the ImageManager service so no collapse work is done, if a collapse runs when you're in the middle of a head start restore you won't be able to finalize it.

Then you can restore your volumes, unchecking the option to finalize the volume at the end of the restore.

when your first restore run is completed, run one final incremental of your source machine and shut it down.

You can then run the restore wizard again, and choose the restore subsequent incrementals option, this time checking the option to finalize the volume.

Also on your OS volume you want to check off the hardware independent restore option.

On your first boot, boot in to safe mode w/ networking and confirm that the drive letter assignments are identical to what they were on the source machine.